I really enjoyed this book. I was reading it at one point in a waiting room and started laughing so hard that I had to put it down.

His writes about the realities of prison life – the dangers, the monotony, the grind, the internecine politics – with intelligence, perceptiveness, candor and affection.

In his two years as a prison librarian and creative writing teacher, Avi Steinberg became much more enmeshed in the lives of the inmates than one might suspect. It’s poignant and revealing to learn about the sad, victimized lives that unfolded before him as he strived to make a difference. Seemingly, the crushing inertia within society that faces so many of the people therein is virtually insurmountable.

I also particularly enjoyed reading about his Jewish cultural background. I learned something, was touched and enlightened by what he shared.

