a bird pleasantly warbling

for a long moment…

I encouraged it with silence

and communed,

enjoying its song

**

A seagull wheeling in the strong cold winds off a bluff,

good-naturedly chuckling back at me

sharing its delight and freedom.

Warming me with its wisdom,

I’ve ascended a new plateau

on this blustery day

**

up on a ladder today,

the chattering of crows

not so personal…

perhaps just curious

about the strange big bird

and what she’s doing up here, with them

**

once I discouraged a crow

in angry chatter

bullying another crow.

I called hawk and eagle.

It heeded and flew off.

Later, a hawk appeared,

gazing  intently

from atop a telephone pole

**

once, I found the world’s tiniest

hawk feather

waiting for me in the dry grass

I put it in a pouch

**

the birds are my companions

I call to them

working, amusing ourselves

we don’t even care if we’re overheard

you either understand

or you don’t

